top of page

Visit of Nikolai Ostapenko (Mauritius ) April 18,2017

16 April

Good time of the day. I'm Leonid's student. My name is Nikolai. I'm standing in Mauritius, in Caudan Waterfron Marina, till April, 20 - 2017. I have some questions for Admiral Nevelskoi Museum. Where is it situated, how to visit it, etc. Please, let me your phone number for a contact.

Sincerely, Nikolay Ostapenko.

-- Sent from Mail.Ru app for Android

16 April

---

Hello Nikolai,

Nice to meet with you . You can call me on the +2305XXX69XX

I have whatsap and viber. I can come to meet you in Caudan.

Regards

Eric Degtyarenko

At about 16:00 on the 18th of April

I met with Nikolai on his yacht the Uminoko. As always my first action was to understand the yacht size . I was welcome on board by Nikolay Ostapenko . We greeted each other and start the conversation. Nikolai is a nice person we very fast felt like we know each other for years . He told me that Leonid was his teacher and that he was happy to meet with me. His Question was where is the Nevelskoi Yacht . I told him that it is in Rodrigues and that Rodrigues Belong to Mauritius. I showed him on his tablet where the Nevelskoi yacht was on Google map. He was happy and wanted to know if he will have to plan his next destination to Rodrigues.

Nikolai gave me many things for the Nevelskoi , Anchor, Skipper Jacket , Lifeline, ropes , chains, mainsail , jenoa and other . So many items that we could hardly fit in my replacement car the Small Hyundai. Nikolay and I plan to go together if possible to Rodrigues Island but my visit to St Petersburg was schedule only in 3 weeks and we all know that the sea is not predictable

after thinking well we decide to put the trip to Rodrigues for another time.

With Nikolay visit I understood more about what Leonid understood from our emails. Sure I was encouraged by Nikolay to keep in touch with Leonid .

Nikolay gave us a gift it was the Atlas from USSR 1974 . A huge book. A nice gift , According to Nikolay it is a valuable book of rare value and not easy to find.

On the 25 we met with Nikolai it was his last Day in Mauritius for this trip. Even we met so fast and did not spend too much time , I understood that I have learn more from Nikolay. I took some pictures of the Uminoko after I left Nikolai at Port-Louis. I was sad that we could not have longer talk and to exchange more ideas.

Without knowing it Nikolai Ostapenko (Uminoko ) Was the first person I met from Vladivostok University in Mauritius. This visit will remain for ever in my heart and memory , it is also a part of the History of the Nevelskoi Yacht.


bottom of page